Embroidery

All Change

As the summer season begins to mellow into Autumn the Island colour scheme slowly begins to change from greens and yellows to reds and golds.  A time for me to reflect and look forward to what is coming my way.

I have achieved and learned a lot over the fist part of this year.  Some were lessons I would rather not have learnt and others were opportunities I never thought would come in my direction.

Events

Open Studio was a chance to exhibit at a new venue and with a change of artists I loved it and it was great to see so many people willing to come to a new venue.

Quarr Abbey was also a new venture for me, again with new artists I had never shown with before and I am pleased to say we have already decided to show together again, so watch this space for new dates!

TAJ Crafts Closing

I was saddened to hear that TAJ Crafts have decided to close and that I will no longer be teaching for them.  I had enjoyed my time with them but am pleased to say I will not lose touch with my students.

New Workshop Opportunities

I was determined to carry on with my workshops so I have found an alternative venue and will upload my new workshop Diary and Payment method as soon as I have received confirmation that my dates are booked.  To whet you appetite some of the Autumn classes will be:

  • English Pieced Patchwork and Embroidered Zipper Purse – 1 and a half  Days  (New Class) – Beginners
  • Introduction to Canvas Work – 1 Day (New Class) – Next Class on from Beginners Embroidery
  • Couched Christmas Tree – Beginners
  • Beginners Embroidery
  • Introduction to Embellished Felt

I may also be able to offer you workshops taught by other tutors, needle felting and quilting are two of the new subjects that could be on offer!

My Education

Finally, I have enrolled in a Foundation Certificate in Embroidery to broaden and challenge my perception of what embroidery is and how I apply it to the way I work.  If you are interested in following my progress, you can do so by following my sister blog here.

I hope that you are all enjoying the Summer and are looking forward to the mellowness of Autumn and maybe the opportunity to join me on one of my workshops.  You will find a warm welcome, homemade cake and lots of fun.

For the time being, thank you for reading and enjoy the rest of the Summer.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

